The Republican Future

Current Republican Leaders Voted 19 Times to Raise Debt Limit During Bush Years

The four Republicans in Congressional leadership positions – Speaker John Boehner, House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, and Senate Minority Whip John Kyl – combined to vote for a debt limit increase 19 times, increasing the debt limit by nearly $4 trillion, during George W. Bush's presidency. Unlike today, database searches revealed no demands from the four that debt increases come accompanied by drastic spending cuts.
A Project by City/State/World

     Follow @TRFuture